Guidelines for the use of licensed content

This text provides notes and substantiations of the currently applicable Terms & Conditions of Westend61 which can be viewed here. In the case that the following guidelines contradict the currently applicable Terms & Conditions in any way, the respective provisions of the Terms & Conditions shall prevail.

The following guidelines explain how you can use photos, illustrations, vectors and video clips (individually and collectively, “content”) that you license from Westend61.

I. What types of licences does Westend61 offer?

Westend61 offers two types of licence models: Royalty-free (“RF”) and rights-managed (“RM”). Royalty-free does not mean there is no cost for the licence. Instead, royalty-free means that the licence fee is paid once and there is no need to pay additional royalties if the content is reused. Royalty-free content is licensed for unlimited, perpetual use, and pricing is based on the file size. Rights-managed content is licensed for specific types of use, and pricing is based on factors such as size, placement, duration of use, and geographic distribution.

II. How can I use licensed content?

For purposes of this agreement, “use” means to copy, reproduce, modify, edit, synchronise, perform, display, broadcast, publish, or otherwise make use of. You may use licensed content in any way consistent with the currently applicable Terms & Conditions of Westend61 and rights granted below.

1. Royalty-Free

Perpetual, meaning there is no expiry or end date on your rights to use the content. Worldwide, meaning content can be used in any geographic territory. Widely unlimited, meaning content can be used an unlimited number of times. Any and all media, meaning content can be used in print, in digital or in any other medium or format. Non-exclusive, meaning that you do not have exclusive rights to use the content. Westend61 can license the same content to other customers. If you would like exclusive rights to use royalty-free content, please contact Westend61.

2. Rights-Managed

Limited to the specific use, medium, period of time, print run, placement, size of content and territory selected, and any other restrictions that accompany the content on the Westend61 website (or any other method of content delivery) or in an order confirmation or invoice. Non-Exclusive, meaning that you do not have exclusive rights to use the content. Westend61 can license the same content to other customers. If you would like exclusive rights to use rights-managed content, please contact Westend61.

III. Restricted Uses

1. No Unlawful Use
You may not use content in a pornographic, defamatory or other unlawful manner.

2. No Commercial Use of Editorial Content
Unless additional rights are specified on the Westend61 invoice or sales order, or granted pursuant to a separate licence agreement, you may not use content marked “editorial” for any commercial, promotional, advertorial, endorsement, advertising or merchandising purpose. This type of content is intended to be used only in connection with events or topics that are newsworthy or of general public interest.

3. No Alteration of Editorial Content
Content marked “editorial” may be cropped or otherwise edited for technical quality, provided that the editorial integrity of the content is not compromised, but you may not otherwise alter the content.

4. No Standalone File Use
You may not use content in any way that allows others to download, extract or redistribute content as a standalone file (meaning just the content file itself, separate from the project or end use).

5. No Sensitive Use Without Disclaimer
If you use content that features models or property in connection with a subject that would be unflattering or unduly controversial to a reasonable person (for example, sexually transmitted diseases), you must indicate: (1) that the content is being used for illustrative purposes only, and (2) any person depicted in the content is a model. For example, you could say: “Stock photo. Posed by model.” No disclaimer is required for content marked “editorial” that is used in a non-misleading editorial manner.

IV. Restricted Uses - unless additional licence purchased

The following are prohibited without the prior written consent of Westend61 and payment of an additional licence fee:

1.  No “On Demand” Products

Unless you purchase a customised licence, you may not use content in connection with "on demand" products (e.g., products in which a licensed image is selected by a third party for customisation of such product on a made-to-order basis), including, without limitation, postcards, mugs, t-shirts, calendars, posters, screensavers or wallpapers on mobile telephones, or similar items.

2. No Electronic Templates

Unless you purchase a custom licence, you may not use content in electronic or digital templates intended for resale or other distribution (for example, website templates, business card templates, electronic greeting card templates, and brochure design templates).

3. No Use in Trademark or Logo

Unless you purchase a custom licence, you may not use content as part of a trademark, design mark, tradename, business name, service mark, or logo.

V. Who, besides me, can use the licensed content?

The rights granted to you are non-transferable and non-sublicensable, meaning that you cannot transfer or sublicense them to anyone else. There are two exceptions:

1. Employer or client

If you are purchasing on behalf of your employer or client, then your employer or client can use the content. In that case, you represent and warrant that you have full legal authority to bind your employer or client to the terms of this agreement.

2. Seat/User Restrictions for RF Content

Please note that seat/user restrictions apply for royalty-free content. You may store licensed royalty-free content in a digital library, network configuration or similar arrangement to allow the licensed royalty-free content to be viewed by your employees and clients, so long as there are no more than 10 users total at any given time. If you require content be available to more than 10 users, please contact Westend61 to purchase additional seat licences.


VI. User Accounts

You will be responsible for tracking all activity for each user account, and you agree to: (a) maintain the security of all passwords and usernames; (b) notify Westend61 immediately of any unauthorised use or other breach of security; and (c) accept all responsibility for activity that occurs under each user account. Westend61 reserves the right to monitor downloads and user activity to ensure compliance with the terms of this agreement. If Westend61 determines that you are in breach of this or any other term of this agreement, it may suspend access to your account and seek further legal remedies.


VII. Intellectual Property Rights

1. Who owns the content?

All the licensed content is owned by either Westend61 or its content suppliers.

2. Do I need to include a photo credit?

As a principle, a photo credit has to be included with every use. The following credit has to be placed adjacent to the content or in production credits:

„[Photographer Name]/[Collection Name]/Westend61“

For commercial uses, you can refrain from providing a respective photo credit based upon an individual agreement with Westend61.


VIII. Termination/Cancellation/Withdrawal

1. Termination

Westend61 may terminate this agreement with immediate effect at any time if you breach any of the provisions of an agreement with Westend61, either if the breach is not terminated within a reasonable time following a respective notice by Westend61 or if such a notice is unacceptable for Westend61, In that case you must immediately: cease using the content; delete or destroy any copies; and, if requested, confirm to Westend61 in writing that you have complied with these requirements.

2. Refunds/Cancellation

All requests for refunds/cancellations must be made in writing or using the cancellation function on the Westend61 website. Provided that the request is made within 7 days and the licensed content has not been used, Westend61 may cancel the relevant order and issue a full refund to your account or credit card. No credits or refunds are available for cancellation requests received more than 7 days from your receipt of content, or for research, lab, service or subscription fees, all of which are non-refundable. In the event of cancellation, your rights to use the content terminate, and you must delete or destroy any copies of the content.


IX. Representations and Warranties

1. Warranty of Non-Infringement

For all licensed content, Westend61 warrants that your use of such content in accordance with this agreement and in the form delivered by Westend61 (that is, excluding any modifications, overlays or refocusing done by you) will not infringe on any copyrights or moral rights of the content owner/creator.

2. Warranty Disclaimer

Unless specifically warranted, Westend61 does not grant any right or make any warranty with regard to the use of names, people, trademarks, trade dress, logos, registered, unregistered or copyrighted audio, designs, works of art or architecture depicted or contained in the content. In such cases, you are solely responsible for determining whether release(s) is/are required in connection with your proposed use of the content, and you are solely responsible for obtaining such release(s). You acknowledge that no releases are generally obtained for content identified as “editorial,” and that some jurisdictions provide legal protection against a person’s image, likeness or property being used for commercial purposes when they have not provided a release.

3. No Other Warranties

Except as provided in this section above, the content is provided “as is” without representation, warranty or condition of any kind, either express or implied, including, but not limited to, implied representations, warranties or conditions of merchantability, or fitness for a particular purpose. Westend61 does not represent or warrant that the content or its websites will meet your requirements or that use of the content or websites will be uninterrupted or error free.


X. Indemnification/Limitation of Liability

1. Indemnification of Westend61 by you

You agree to defend, indemnify and hold harmless Westend61 and its parent, subsidiaries, affiliates and content suppliers, and each of their respective officers, directors and employees from all damages, liabilities and expenses (including reasonable outside legal fees) arising out of or in connection with (i) your use of any content outside the scope of this agreement; (ii) any breach or alleged breach by you (or anyone acting on your behalf) of any of the terms of this or any other agreement with Westend61; and (iii) your failure to obtain any required release for your use of content.

2. Limitation of Liability

Otherwise, Westend61 will only be liable for damages resulting from intent. Westend61 will not be liable to you or any other person or entity for any lost profits, punitive, special, indirect, consequential, incidental or other similar damages, costs or losses arising out of this agreement, even if Westend61 has been advised of the possibility of such damages, costs or losses, this provision does not apply to a liability for damages based on intent.


XI. General Provisions

1. Assignment

This agreement is personal to you and is not assignable by you without Westend61 prior written consent. Westend61 may assign this agreement, without notice or consent, to any corporate affiliate or to any successor in interest, provided that such entity agrees to be bound by these terms.

2. Audit

Upon reasonable notice, you agree to provide to Westend61 sample copies of projects or end uses that contain licensed content, including by providing Westend61 with free of charge access to any pay-walled or otherwise restricted access website or platform where content is reproduced

3. Electronic storage

You agree to retain the copyright symbol, the name of Westend61, the content’s identification number and any other information or metadata that may be embedded in the electronic file containing the original content, and to maintain appropriate security to protect the content from unauthorized use by third parties. You may make one (1) copy of the content for back-up purposes on any purchase order sent by you, the terms of this agreement will apply.

4. Notice

All notices required to be sent to Westend61 under this agreement should be sent via email to service@westend61.de. All notices to you will be sent via email to the email set out in your account.

5. Taxes

You agree to pay and be responsible for any and all sales taxes, use taxes, value-added taxes, withholding taxes and duties imposed by any jurisdiction as a result of the licence granted to you, or of your use of the licensed content.

6. Interest on Overdue Invoices

The invoices of Westend61 are always payable in net within 30 days. Following expiry of this period, Westend61 will charge an interest of 8% points above the basic interest rate according to Section 288, Subsection 2 of the German Civil Code (BGB).

Otherwise we refer to the Terms & Conditions of Westend61 (par. VII.), in particular in respect of the provisions regarding place of jurisdiction and governing law.

Hinweise zur Verwendung lizenzierter Inhalte

Dieses Dokument stellt eine Erläuterung und Konkretisierung der hier abrufbaren, jeweils gültigen Allgemeinen Geschäftsbedingungen von Westend61 dar. Für den Fall, dass die nachfolgenden Hinweise in irgendeiner Form Widersprüche zu den gültigen Allgemeinen Geschäftsbedingungen von Westend61 aufweisen, haben die Bestimmungen der Allgemeinen Geschäftsbedingungen in jedem Fall vorrangige Gültigkeit.

Nachfolgend wird erläutert, wie Sie Fotos, Illustrationen und Vektorgrafiken (einzeln und zusammengefasst als „Inhalte“ bezeichnet) im Einklang mit den Allgemeinen Geschäftsbedingungen von Westend61 verwenden dürfen, für die Sie eine Lizenz von Westend61 erwerben.

I. Welche Arten von Lizenzen bietet Westend61 an?

Westend61 bietet zwei Arten von Lizenzmodellen an: lizenzfrei („RF“) und lizenzpflichtig („RM“). Lizenzfrei bedeutet nicht, dass für die Lizenz keinerlei Kosten anfallen. Lizenzfrei bedeutet vielmehr, dass die Lizenzgebühr einmal bezahlt wird und bei der erneuten Nutzung der Inhalte keine zusätzlichen Lizenzgebühren anfallen. Lizenzfreie Inhalte sind für die unbegrenzte, zeitlich unbeschränkte Nutzung zugelassen und das Honorar richtet sich jeweils nach der Dateigröße. Lizenzpflichtige Inhalte sind für bestimmte Arten der Nutzung zugelassen und das Honorar richtet sich nach Faktoren wie Größe, Platzierung, Verwendungsdauer und geografische Ausdehnung der Nutzung.

II. Wie kann ich lizenzierte Inhalte verwenden?

1. Lizenzfreies Material / Royalty Free

Lizenzfreie Inhalte werden zeitlich und räumlich unbeschränkt lizenziert, d. h., es gibt kein Ablauf- oder Enddatum für Ihre Rechte zur Verwendung der betreffenden Inhalte. Ferner dürfen diese Inhalte in beliebigen geografischen Gebieten genutzt werden. Diese Art der Lizenz gilt darüber hinaus auch inhaltlich weitgehend unbegrenzt, d. h., Inhalte dürfen in einer unbegrenzten Anzahl von Projekten in jedwedem Medienformat verwendet werden. Allerdings wird für lizenzfreie Inhalte lediglich eine einfache, nicht exklusive Lizenz erteilt, d. h., Sie haben keine ausschließlichen Rechte zur Verwendung der Inhalte. Westend61 darf die gleichen Inhalte auch an andere Kunden lizenzieren. Falls Sie an Exklusivrechten zur Nutzung lizenzfreier Inhalte interessiert sind, wenden Sie sich bitte an Westend61, um die Möglichkeiten zu besprechen.

2. Lizenzpflichtig / Rights Managed

Die Lizenz zur Nutzung lizenzpflichtiger Inhalte ist in Bezug auf die jeweilige Nutzung, das Medium, den Zeitraum, die Druckauflage, die Positionierung, die Größe des Inhalts sowie das ausgewählte geografische Gebiet beschränkt. Es darf nur eine einmalige Nutzung in dem konkret vereinbarten Umfang erfolgen. Sofern nicht ausdrücklich anders vereinbart, wird auch diese Lizenz wird als einfache, nicht exklusive Lizenz erteilt, d. h. Sie haben keine ausschließlichen Rechte zur Verwendung der Inhalte. Westend61 darf die gleichen Inhalte auch an andere Kunden lizenzieren. Wenn Sie an Exklusivrechten interessiert sind, wenden Sie sich bitte an Westend61, um die Möglichkeiten zu besprechen.

III. Eingeschränkte Verwendungen

1. Keine widerrechtliche Verwendung

Die Inhalte dürfen nicht auf pornografische, diffamierende oder andere rechtswidrige Weise verwendet werden.

2. Keine kommerzielle Verwendung von redaktionellen Inhalten

Als „redaktionell“ oder „editorial“ gekennzeichnete Inhalte dürfen nicht für kommerzielle Zwecke genutzt werden, es sei denn, Westend61 hat in der Rechnung oder in einer separaten Lizenzvereinbarung entsprechende zusätzliche Rechte eingeräumt. Diese Art von Inhalten ist nur dazu bestimmt, im Zusammenhang mit Ereignissen oder Themen verwendet zu werden, die redaktionell oder von Interesse für die Allgemeinheit sind.

3. Keine Änderung von redaktionellen Inhalten

Als „redaktionell“ oder „editorial“ gekennzeichnete Inhalte dürfen mit der Maßgabe zugeschnitten oder sonst zur Verbesserung der technischen Qualität bearbeitet werden, dass die redaktionelle Integrität der Inhalte nicht beeinträchtigt wird; jede sonstige Bearbeitung ist untersagt.

4. Keine Verwendung als Einzeldatei

Sie dürfen Inhalte nicht in einer Weise verwenden, die es anderen Personen gestattet, Inhalte als gesonderte Datei (also nur die Inhaltsdatei selbst, separat vom Projekt oder der Endverwendung) herunterzuladen, zu extrahieren oder weiterzugeben.

5. Keine sensible Nutzung ohne Hinweis

Wenn Sie Inhalte verwenden, bei denen Models oder Objekte in Verbindung mit einem Thema dargestellt werden, das für einen gewöhnlichen Betrachter unvorteilhaft oder über Gebühr kontrovers wirkt (wie etwa Geschlechtskrankheiten), müssen Sie Folgendes angeben: (1) Dass die Inhalte nur zur Veranschaulichung verwendet werden und (2) dass es sich bei allen ggf. in den Inhalten abgebildeten Personen um Models handelt. Unabhängig von den vorstehenden Anforderungen sind Verwendungen, die zur Herabwürdigung abgebildeter Personen führen können, insgesamt unzulässig.

IV. Eingeschränkte Verwendungen – soweit keine zusätzliche Lizenz erworben wurde

Die folgenden Punkte sind ohne vorherige schriftliche Einwilligung von Westend61 und Zahlung einer zusätzlichen Lizenzgebühr untersagt:

1. Keine „On Demand“-Produkte

Sofern Sie hierfür keine spezielle Lizenz erwerben, dürfen Sie keine Inhalte in Verbindung mit „On-Demand“-Produkten verwenden (z. B. Produkte, bei denen das Lizenzbild durch einen Dritten zur Gestaltung des Produkts im Sinne einer Sonderanfertigung ausgewählt wird), insbesondere Postkarten, Becher, T-Shirts, Kalender, Poster, Bildschirmschoner oder Hintergrundbilder auf Mobiltelefonen oder ähnliche Artikel).

2. Keine elektronischen Vorlagen

Sofern Sie hierfür keine spezielle Lizenz erwerben, dürfen Sie Inhalte nicht im Rahmen von elektronischen oder digitalen Vorlagen verwenden, die zum Weiterverkauf oder sonstigen Vertrieb bestimmt sind (wie etwa Vorlagen für Websites, Visitenkarten, elektronische Grußkarten und Broschürendesigns).

3. Keine Verwendung in Marken oder Logos

Sofern Sie hierfür keine spezielle Lizenz erwerben, dürfen Sie Inhalte nicht als Teil einer Marke, eines Kennzeichens, eines Firmennamens, einer Produkt- oder Dienstleistungsbezeichnung oder eines Logos verwenden.

V. Wer außer mir selbst darf die lizenzierten Inhalte nutzen?

Die Ihnen gewährten Rechte sind nicht übertragbar und nicht unterlizenzierbar. Dies bedeutet, dass Sie die Ihnen gewährten Rechte auf niemanden übertragen und an niemanden unterlizenzieren dürfen. Dabei gibt es zwei Ausnahmen:

1. Arbeitgeber oder Kunde

Wenn Sie den Kauf im Namen Ihres Arbeitgebers oder Kunden tätigen, darf auch Ihr Arbeitgeber oder Kunde die Inhalte verwenden. In diesem Fall sichern Sie zu und gewährleisten, dass Sie über die volle rechtliche Befugnis verfügen, Ihren Arbeitgeber oder Kunden zur Einhaltung der Bedingungen dieser Vereinbarung zu verpflichten.

2. Arbeitsplatz-/Benutzerbeschränkungen für RF-Inhalte

Bitte beachten Sie, dass für lizenzfreie Inhalte Arbeitsplatz-/Benutzerbeschränkungen gelten. Sie dürfen die lizenzfreien Lizenzinhalte in einer digitalen Bibliothek, einer Netzwerkstruktur oder einer ähnlichen Einrichtung speichern, damit sie von Ihren Mitarbeitern und Kunden eingesehen werden können, sofern insgesamt höchstens 10 dauerhaft festzulegende individuelle Nutzer Einsicht nehmen können. Falls Inhalte mehr als 10 Nutzern zur Verfügung stehen müssen, wenden Sie sich bitte an Westend61, um eine Datenbanklizenz zu erwerben.


VI. Benutzerkonten

Sie sind dafür verantwortlich, alle Aktivitäten unter Ihren Benutzerkonten zu verfolgen, und Sie verpflichten sich dazu: (a) die Sicherheit aller Passwörter und Benutzernamen zu wahren, (b) Westend61 sofort über unbefugte Nutzungen oder sonstige Sicherheitsverstöße zu benachrichtigen, und (c) die volle Verantwortung für die Aktivitäten zu übernehmen, die über Ihre Benutzerkonten stattfinden. Westend61 behält sich das Recht vor, Downloads und Benutzeraktivitäten zu überwachen, um die Einhaltung der Bestimmungen dieser Vereinbarung zu gewährleisten. Sollte Westend61 feststellen, dass Sie gegen diese oder eine andere Bestimmung dieser Vereinbarung verstoßen, kann Westend61 den Zugriff auf Ihre Konten sperren und weitere rechtliche Maßnahmen ergreifen.


VII. Geistige Eigentumsrechte

1. Wer ist der Eigentümer der Inhalte?

Alle lizenzierten Inhalte gehören entweder Westend61 oder den Inhaltslieferanten von Westend61.

2. Muss ich bei Fotos den Urheber angeben?

Grundsätzlich ist bei jeder Verwendung ein Agentur- und Urhebervermerk anzubringen. Der folgende Vermerk ist in enger räumlicher Nähe zum betreffenden Inhalt oder in den Urhebervermerken anzugeben:

„[Name des Fotografen]/[Name der Kollektion]/Westend61“

Bei einer Nutzung zu kommerziellen Zwecken kann in Absprache mit Westend61 auf die Angabe des Urhebers verzichtet werden.


VIII. Kündigung/Stornierung/Rücktritt

1. Kündigung

Westend61 kann diese Vereinbarung jederzeit kündigen, sofern Sie gegen eine Bestimmung dieser oder einer anderen Vereinbarung mit Westend61 verstoßen, wenn Sie diesen Verstoß auch nach entsprechender Abmahnung durch Westend61 nicht binnen angemessener Frist abstellen oder eine Abmahnung für Westend61 unzumutbar ist. In diesem Fall müssen Sie unverzüglich die Nutzung der betroffenen Inhalte einstellen, alle Kopien davon löschen oder vernichten und Westend61 auf Anforderung schriftlich bestätigen, dass Sie diese Auflagen erfüllt haben.

2. Erstattung/Stornierung

Erstattungs- und Stornierungsanfragen müssen schriftlich gestellt werden. Sofern die Anfrage innerhalb von sieben (7) Tagen nach Erwerb eingereicht wird und die lizenzierten Inhalte noch nicht verwendet wurden, kann Westend61 die entsprechende Bestellung stornieren und Ihrem Konto bzw. Ihrer Kreditkarte gutschreiben. Gutschriften und Zahlungen können nicht erstattet werden, wenn die Stornierungsanfrage mehr als 7 Tage nach Erhalt des Inhalts eingeht. Ebenfalls nicht erstattungsfähig sind Kosten für Recherchen, Labor, Services und Abonnements. Im Falle einer Stornierung enden Ihre Rechte zur Nutzung der Inhalte und Sie müssen alle Kopien der Inhalte löschen oder vernichten.


IX. Gewährleistungen

1. Gewährleistung der Nichtverletzung

Für alle lizenzierten Inhalte gewährleistet Westend61, dass Ihre Nutzung dieser Inhalte gemäß dieser Vereinbarung und in der durch Westend61 gelieferten Form (d. h. ohne Veränderung, Overlay oder erneute Fokussierung durch Sie) keinerlei Urheberrechte oder Urheberpersönlichkeitsrechte des Rechteinhabers des jeweiligen lizenzierten Inhalts verletzt.

2. Gewährleistungsausschluss

Sofern nicht ausdrücklich gewährleistet, gewährt Westend61 keinerlei Rechte und übernimmt keine Gewährleistung in Bezug auf die Verwendung von Namen, Personen, Marken, Handelsaufmachungen, Logos, eingetragene, nicht eingetragene oder urheberrechtlich geschützte Designs, Kunstwerke oder Architektur, die in den Inhalten abgebildet oder enthalten sind. In diesen Fällen müssen Sie in eigener Verantwortung feststellen, ob im Zusammenhang mit Ihrer gewünschten Nutzung des Inhalts Releases bzw. Freigaben erforderlich sind, und diese selbst beschaffen. Sie erkennen an, dass grundsätzlich keine Releases bzw. Freigaben für Inhalte vorliegen, die als „redaktionell“ bzw. „editorial“ gekennzeichnet sind und dass einige Rechtskreisen rechtlichen Schutz gegen die kommerzielle Nutzung des Bildes, der Erscheinung oder des Eigentums einer Person gewähren, sofern diese Person keine Freigabe erteilt hat.

3. Keine weiteren Gewährleistungen

Mit Ausnahme der oben stehenden Regelungen unter dieser Ziffer werden die Inhalte ohne jedwede ausdrückliche oder konkludente Gewährleistung oder Zusicherung bereitgestellt. Westend61 übernimmt keine Gewährleistung für die wirtschaftliche Verwertbarkeit, marktübliche Qualität oder Zweckeignung oder die Kompatibilität mit Computern und anderem technischen Gerät. Westend61 übernimmt keine Gewährleistung dafür, dass die Inhalte oder die Websites von Westend61 Ihren Erwartungen oder Anforderungen entsprechen oder dass deren Nutzung ununterbrochen oder fehlerfrei möglich ist.


X. Freistellung/Haftungsbeschränkung

1. Ihre Verpflichtung zur Freistellung von Westend61

Sie verpflichten sich dazu, Westend61 und die Muttergesellschaft, Tochtergesellschaften, verbundenen Unternehmen und Lieferanten von Westend61 sowie deren jeweilige leitende Angestellte, Geschäftsführer und Mitarbeiter in Bezug auf alle Schadensersatzforderungen, Verbindlichkeiten und Kosten (einschließlich angemessener Anwaltskosten) zu verteidigen, zu entschädigen und freizustellen, die aufgrund von oder im Zusammenhang mit (i) Ihrer Nutzung von Inhalten außerhalb des Anwendungsbereiches dieser Vereinbarung, (ii) einer Verletzung dieser oder einer anderen Vereinbarung mit Westend61 durch Sie (oder eine Person, die in Ihrem Namen handelt) oder (iii) Ihrem Versäumnis, erforderliche Freigaben bzw. Releases für Ihre Nutzung von Inhalten einzuholen, entstehen.

2. Haftungsbeschränkung

Westend61 HAFTET IM ÜBRIGEN NUR FÜR SCHÄDEN, DIE DURCH VORSATZ VERURSACHT WORDEN SIND. Westend61 HAFTET GEGENÜBER IHNEN ODER ANDEREN NATÜRLICHEN ODER JURISTISCHEN PERSONEN ZUDEM NICHT FÜR ENTGANGENEN GEWINN, STRAFSCHADENSERSATZ, INDIREKTE SCHÄDEN, FOLGESCHÄDEN ODER SONSTIGE ÄHNLICHE SCHÄDEN, KOSTEN ODER VERLUSTE, DIE SICH IM ZUSAMMENHANG MIT DIESEM VERTRAG ERGEBEN, SELBST WENN Westend61 VON DER MÖGLICHKEIT SOLCHER SCHÄDEN, KOSTEN ODER VERLUSTE IN KENNTNIS GESETZT WURDE. AUSGENOMMEN IST INSOWEIT LEDIGLICH DIE HAFTUNG FÜR VORSATZ.


XI. Allgemeine Bestimmungen

1. Abtretung

Diese Vereinbarung gilt nur für Sie und ist nur mit vorheriger schriftlicher Einwilligung seitens Westend61 übertragbar. Westend61 kann diese Vereinbarung ohne Vorankündigung oder Zustimmung an verbundene Unternehmen oder Rechtsnachfolger übertragen, soweit das betreffende Unternehmen erklärt, an diese Bestimmungen gebunden zu sein.

2. Prüfung

Sie sind damit einverstanden, Westend61 nach angemessener Vorankündigung Musterexemplare von Projekten und Verwendungen durch Endnutzer, die lizenzierte Inhalte enthalten, zur Verfügung zu stellen. Dies umfasst den kostenlosen Zugriff auf kostenpflichtige oder anderweitig zugangsbeschränkte Websites oder Plattformen, auf denen Inhalte wiedergegeben werden.

3. Elektronische Speicherung

Sie verpflichten sich dazu, das Copyright-Symbol, den Namen Westend61, die Identifikationsnummer des Inhalts sowie alle anderen ggf. in der elektronischen Datei mit den Original-Inhalten eingebetteten Informationen und Metadaten beizubehalten und angemessene Sicherheitsmaßnahmen aufrechtzuerhalten, um die Inhalte gegen eine unbefugte Nutzung durch Dritte zu schützen. Sie dürfen eine (1) Sicherungskopie anfertigen.

4. Benachrichtigungen

Benachrichtigungen, die im Rahmen dieser Vereinbarung an Westend61 gesendet werden müssen, sind per E-Mail an service@westend61.de zu senden. Alle Benachrichtigungen an Sie werden per E-Mail an die in Ihrem Benutzerkonto angegebene E-Mail-Adresse geschickt.

5. Steuern

Sie verpflichten sich dazu, alleinverantwortlich alle Umsatzsteuern, Gebrauchssteuern, Mehrwertsteuern, Quellensteuern und Gebühren zu zahlen, die in einem beliebigen Rechtskreis aufgrund der Ihnen gewährten Lizenz oder Ihrer Nutzung der lizenzierten Inhalte anfallen.

6. Fälligkeit und Verzug

Die Rechnungen von Westend61 sind stets netto innerhalb 30 Tagen zahlbar. Nach Ablauf dieser Frist berechnet Westend61 Verzugszinsen in Höhe von 8 %-Punkten über dem Basiszinssatz gemäß § 288 Abs. 2 BGB.

Im Übrigen wird an dieser Stelle auf die Allgemeinen Geschäftsbedingungen von Westend61 (dort Ziffer VII.), insb. auf die Regelungen zum Gerichtsstand und zum anwendbaren Recht verwiesen.