THE "SMALL PRINTS"
GENERAL TERMS AND CONDITIONS

I. Preamble

1. The following general terms and conditions (referred to hereinafter as „conditions”) constitute a legally binding contract between you and

Westend61 GmbH
Schwanthalerstrasse 86, 80336 München
(referred to hereinafter as „Westend61“)

They apply to all offers, deliveries, electronic transmission, and the granting of user rights for photographs, illustrations and other works (referred to hereinafter as „images”) by Westend61. Therefore, please read the following conditions carefully prior to using the website and before ordering or downloading images.

2. Your agreement with these conditions is confirmed by your registration via this website. Should you not accept these conditions, you are not permitted to use this website.

3. Westend61 reserves the right to alter or modify these conditions at any time without prior notice, if such modifications, taking the legitimate interests of Westend61 into consideration, are reasonable for the person placing the order, i.e. the license holder. The right to alter or modify does not apply to essential provisions of the contractual relationship, in particular kind or extend of the mutually agreed obligations.

Continued access and use of the website after such modification are deemed as agreement to the new conditions. It is the responsibility of the person placing the order, i.e. the license holder to regularly inform him/herself of the current status of these conditions. These conditions were last updated on 1st October 2017.

4. Differing terms and conditions of the purchaser, i.e. the license holder apply only in the event that written agreement is provided by Westend61. Any license holder's general conditions of business and delivery on the order form, confirmation of order or other documents are herewith expressly negated.

II. Subject of the Agreement

1. Westend61 generally grants to the license holder a non-exclusive, non-transferable license for use of the delivered or electronically transmitted images. The license holder is only entitled to use the images in accordance with these conditions and is granted no rights other than those specified here or in an explicit individual agreement.

2. All images are protected by copyright. Delivered or electronically transmitted images remain the property of Westend61 and/or its licensors/image providers and are made available exclusively for the acquisition of user rights according to copyright law.

III. User Rights (Licenses)

1. General Provisions

1.1 The licensing becomes effective with the acceptance of these conditions and payment of the invoiced charges. The natural or legal entity whose name and address is provided on the order receives, on fulfilment of the requirements mentioned in this agreement, the non-exclusive and non-transferrable right to use the images, which is subjected to the limitations detailed in this agreement. It is not permitted to use material, information or other content on this website without a valid license.

1.2 When placing the order or at the latest prior to the actual use of the images, the license holder must provide detailed information about the nature, extent and territory (language) in which he/she intends to use the images and in case of Rights Managed images, the name of the end user. Westend61 declares its agreement to the use of the delivered images in accordance with the information provided by the license holder. Should the details provided by the license holder not match the actual use or should the nature of use not be in accordance with the information provided, the license is deemed to be not granted. In this case, the license holder must indemnify Westend61 from any third party's claims.

1.3 Only user rights regarding the photographic copyright are granted for the respective image/s. Any approval or authorization to the use of portrayed persons, names, brand names or trademarks, buildings, decoration and artistic designs are not included. This applies especially for commercial uses. The license holder is responsible for procurement of the necessary permission or authorization associated with the planned use from the respective competent person or authority. The publication of pictures of celebrities must be accompanied by their names and is only permitted in an editorial context.

1.4 Westend61 expressly reserves the right to the transfer of secondary rights on collection societies. Clauses according to which the acceptance of a licensing fee is deemed to exclude further rights are expressly negated.

1.5 In accordance with Section 13 of the German Copyright Act (UrhG), every use must be accompanied by an agency and copyright notation and has to be unambiguously associated with the respective image. Collective notations are adequate in this context only if they also allow no doubt of their relation to the respective image(s). The license holder must indemnify Westend61 from any liability or third parties´ claims arising from the failure to provide adequate copyright notation. This clause also applies on the display of the images in television broadcasts, films or other media unless expressly agreed to in an explicit written individual agreement.

1.6 For every publication in a printed medium, at least two complete specimen copies must be forwarded, unrequested and free of charge, to Westend61 in accordance with Section 25 of the German publishing Act (VerlagsG).

2. General Reservation of Rights

2.1 The license holder is obligated to observe the publishing principles of the German Press (Press codex), and is responsible for the accompanying text. Westend61 accepts no liability for any breach of the general privacy or copyright laws resulting from a composition of image(s) and text that is misleading or distorts the context of the image. In case of a breach of this obligation, the user bears sole liability towards any third party claims for compensation and is also obligated to indemnify Westend61 from liability for any claims of this nature.

2.2 Any distortion of the copyrighted images through derivative drawing, photographing, photocomposing or the use of electronic equipment is not permitted. Exceptions to this provision require an individual written agreement. Distortion of the context and adulteration of the image or text, and uses that may result in the degradation of the portrayed persons are not permitted and make the user liable to provide compensation.

2.3 It is not permitted to transfer the images or replication rights to a third party. Duplication, reproduction and enlargement by the user for archiving purposes and the transfer of such to third parties are also not permitted. Exceptions require written consent from Westend61.

2.4 In particular, the License holder is not permitted to engage in the following without express written consent from von Westend61:

  • to license the rights granted to him/her to a third party, to transfer and/or sell these rights or to embed an image in an electronic template that is intended for use by a third party in print or the electronic media, e.g. design templates for websites, presentation templates or electronic greeting or business cards;
  • to embed an image in a logo, brand image or other form of trademark;
  • to distribute or make images available in a format suitable for download or to enable a distribution via mobile phone devices;
  • to place the images for collective use in a CD library, data carrier, network configuration or similar arrangement if more than ten (10) persons have access to them, even if that access is at different times;
  • to use images in connection with “On-Demand”-products (e.g. products, for which the image is used by a third party to create a custom-made design or product), in particular post cards, glasses, cups, T-shirts, calendars, poster screen savers or mobile phone wallpapers or similar;
  • to sell, license or market any product produced using the image/s in a form that makes it possible for the end customer to access or select the image as a single file.

2.5 Any and all licensed images, in particular images depicting persons, may not be used in a way that is or could be deemed as pornographic, defamatory or illegal in any kind.

3. Licenses for Rights Managed Images - RM

The respective license for Rights Managed images applies only to the single and use and only as far as agreed upon in advance. Repeated use or other extensions of the granted license (purpose, nature, extent, duration or territory) are only permitted after prior written consent from Westend61.

4. Licenses for Royalty Free Images

Licenses for Royalty Free images are granted for an unlimited period. Under consideration of the limitations specified in sections III.1. and III.2. of this agreement, a licensed RF image can be used in all print, online, film, video, broadcasting and multimedia products for promotion, advertising and editorial purposes or for the display on products provided that the products do not serve the further sale or reuse of the respective images. In case of any differences between the regulations of this and the other paragraphs of this agreement, the stricter provision shall apply.

5. Termination and Revocation of Licenses

Licenses granted by Westend61 can be terminated with immediate effect in case of any breach of the provisions of this agreement by license holder, either if the breach is not terminated within a reasonable time following a respective notice by Westend61 or if such a notice is unacceptable for Westend61. In this case, the license holder must cease using the images without delay, return any original and copies to Westend61 and delete or destroy all electronic copies.

IV. Fees

1. General Provisions

1.1 Every use of the images from Westend61 is subject to a fee. This also applies to the use of the image as a template for drawings, caricatures, replicated photos, for layout purposes and customer presentations and the use of image detail(s) in recomposition, photocomposing, electronic image carriers or similar techniques that make them a component of a new image.

1.2 All fees specified in offers, price lists and other documents are net amounts; they do not include VAT or social security contributions for artists (Künstlersozialversicherungsabgabe).

1.3 Exclusive rights or any blocking period require a separate agreement and are subject to an additional fee amounting to at least 100 percent of the basic fee.

1.4 Westend61 is entitled to issue an invoice for the granted license as soon as the license holder advises that he/she will use all or a part of the delivered image/s, even if publication or other use has not yet occurred. Paid fees will not be refunded if the intended publication or other use fails to be realized. Refunds may only be given at the sole discretion of Westend61.

1.5 The payment of fees must always be accompanied by the customer number, image number (image code) and the name of the copyright holder. Should this information not be provided, an additional administrative fee will be charged calculated on the basis of the additional expenditure of time required. Account settlement must also include the name of the publication and details of the position in which the image appears.

1.6 A procurement and information fee is charged for the procurement of material and information from third parties. This fee is based on the nature and amount of effort involved and does not include any form of license fee. The payment of this administrative fee does not entitle the person placing the order to any user or ownership rights.

2. License fees for Rights Managed images (RM)

2.1 License fees for Rights Managed (referred to as RM in the following) images must be agreed upon prior to their use. They are determined according to the medium, nature, extent, territory (language) and duration of use; Westend61 must be informed of these exact details prior to the respective use. In the absence of a prior agreement on fees, Westend61 is entitled to charge fees in accordance with the current tariff of MFM (Mittelstandsgemeinschaft Foto-Marketing). If the license holder provides incomplete information regarding the respective use of the image/s, Westend61 is entitled to charge a reasonable flat fee.

2.2 The agreed fees apply to a single use only, under the criteria of this agreement. Every additional use is subject to new fees and requires prior written agreement by Westend61. This especially applies to the use of images in digital media, e.g. websites, pdf documents and e-papers.

2.3 Should an illustrated object (e.g. a book, album cover, brochure, etc.) be presented in one of the new media, a further fee must be paid for the recognizable image on this object. This especially applies to use for advertising purposes. The license holder must inform Westend61 of the new use and acquire written consent to the new use.

3. License fees for Royalty Free images are set in the respective current Westend61 pricelist.

V. Liability of the License Holder

1. In the event of unauthorized use, distortion or transfer of the delivered or electronic image/s, the unauthorized licensing to third parties and the unauthorized reproduction of copies and/or enlargements by the license holder for archive purposes or their transfer to a third party, the license holder agrees to the payment of a fixed compensation of the fivefold of the usual license fee. This payment does not prejudice further claims for compensation. The license holder is free to prove that the damage was of a lesser amount.

2. The license holder is obligated to indemnify Westend61 and its licensors/image providers against all claims, demands, costs and expenditure of third parties, including any necessary lawyer or court costs that arise from the license holder's breach of the provisions of this Agreement, the use or alteration of images or the unauthorized combination of images with other material.

VI. Guarantee, Warranty

1. In the case of a justified complaint, the license holder has the right to a replacement delivery. The license holder can only withdraw from the agreement and claim a refund of the fees in case of failure of the replacement. Westend61 accepts no further liability and provides no further guarantee either explicitly or implicitly, and particularly excludes any guarantee for the commercial suitability, quality, or appropriateness of the images for a specific use or their compatibility with computers or other technical equipment. Further, Westend61 only accepts liability for damages that result from intent.

2. The license holder is obligated to check the delivered or electronically transmitted image/s without delay following their receipt and prior to any form of usage. Complaints must be made within one week following the license holder's receipt of the image/s and if requested by Westend61, the complaint must be made in writing within a further week following receipt of the image/s. Justified complaints regarding any concealed defect must be made in writing within ten workdays of their discovery. Failure to provide notification within these deadlines releases Westend61 from all liability for any damage that has occurred or may occur in the future. This does not include damages that result from intent.

3. Neither Westend61 nor its licensors/image providers or authorized dealers are liable towards the license holder, their customers or any other third party for any general, special, direct, indirect, consequential, incidental, or other damages arising from this license, any use of the images, or any other source. This does not include damages that result from intent.

VII. Terms of Payment, Miscellaneous

1. The invoices of Westend61 are always payable in net within 30 days. Following expiry of this period, Westend61 will charge an interest of 8% points above the basic interest rate according to Section 288, Subsection 2 of the German Civil Code (BGB).

2. The license holder agrees that his/her personal data, given that they relate to the business relationship with Westend61 and are made available in the course of this relationship, can be stored and electronically processed by Westend61 and used for information purposes.

3. This agreement, including deliveries made abroad, is governed by the law of the Federal Republic of Germany under exclusion of the UN Convention on the International Sale of Goods. To the extent that this is legally permissible, the exclusive place and court of jurisdiction is Munich, Germany.

4. Should one or more of these provisions be or become invalid or unenforceable, this does not affect the validity of the remaining provisions. The invalid or unenforceable provision is to be replaced, in good faith, with an enforceable or valid provision that is closest to the intention of the parties or its intended economic objective.

Should you wish to use an image in any manner other than those stipulated in these general terms and conditions, please contact us under service@westend61.de or by phone under +49 (0) 89 4524426-0.

DAS „KLEINGEDRUCKTE“
ALLGEMEINE GESCHÄFTSBEDINGUNGEN

I. Einleitung

1. Die folgenden Allgemeinen Geschäftsbedingungen (nachfolgend „Bedingungen”) stellen einen rechtsgültigen Vertrag zwischen Ihnen und der Firma

Westend61 GmbH
Schwanthalerstrasse 86, 80336 München
(nachfolgend „Westend61”)

dar. Sie gelten für sämtliche Angebote, Lieferungen, elektronischen Übermittlungen und die Einräumung von Nutzungsrechten an Fotografien, Illustrationen und anderen Werken (nachfolgend „Bilder”) durch Westend61. Bitte lesen Sie sich daher vor Nutzung der Webseite und vor der Bestellung oder dem Herunterladen von Bildern die folgenden Bedingungen sorgfältig durch.

2. Mit der Registrierung über die Webseite bestätigen Sie Ihr Einverständnis mit diesen Bedingungen. Sofern Sie diese Bedingungen nicht akzeptieren, dürfen Sie diese Webseite nicht nutzen.

3. Westend61 behält sich das Recht vor, diese Bedingungen jederzeit und ohne vorherige Ankündigung zu ändern, wenn die Änderungen unter Berücksichtigung der Interessen von Westend61 für den Besteller bzw. Lizenznehmer zumutbar ist. Die Änderungsbefugnis gilt nicht für wesentliche Regelungen des Vertragsverhältnisses, insbesondere Art und Umfang der vereinbarten beiderseitigen Leistungen.

Der weitere Zugriff auf sowie die weitere Nutzung der Webseite nach einer solchen Änderung gilt als Zustimmung zu den geänderten Bedingungen. Es obliegt dem Besteller bzw. Lizenznehmer, sich regelmäßig über den aktuellen Stand dieser Bedingungen zu informieren. Diese Bedingungen wurden zuletzt am 01.10.2017 aktualisiert.

4. Abweichende Geschäftsbedingungen des Bestellers bzw. Lizenznehmers gelten nur bei schriftlicher Bestätigung durch Westend61. Allgemeinen Geschäfts- und Lieferbedingungen des Bestellers bzw. Lizenznehmers, auf die in Bestellformularen, Lieferbestätigungen o. Ä. verwiesen wird, wird hiermit ausdrücklich widersprochen.

II. Vertragsgegenstand

1. Der Lizenznehmer erhält von Westend61 grundsätzlich lediglich eine einfache Lizenz zur Nutzung der fraglichen Inhalte. Diese Lizenz ist weder ausschließlich, noch übertragbar. Der Lizenznehmer ist nur berechtigt, die Bilder entsprechend der vorliegenden Bedingungen zu nutzen und erhält außer den hiermit oder im Einzelfall ausdrücklich vereinbarten Nutzungsrechten keine weiteren Rechte.

2. Alle Bilder sind urheberrechtlich geschützt. Geliefertes bzw. elektronisch übermitteltes Bildmaterial bleibt stets Eigentum von Westend61 und/oder deren Lizenzgebern und wird ausschließlich zum Erwerb von Nutzungsrechten im Sinne des Urheberrechts zur Verfügung gestellt.


III. Nutzungsrechte (Lizenzen)

1. Allgemeine Bestimmungen

1.1 Die Lizenzierung erfolgt durch Annahme dieser Bedingungen und Zahlung der in Rechnung gestellten Honorare. Die natürliche oder juristische Person, deren Name und Adresse bei der Bestellung angegeben wird, erhält nach den Bestimmungen dieser AGB das nicht ausschließliche und nicht übertragbare Recht zur Nutzung der Bilder. Ohne gültige Lizenz ist es nicht gestattet, Material, Informationen oder andere Inhalte dieser Website zu nutzen.

1.2 Der Lizenznehmer hat bei der Bestellung, spätestens jedoch vor der tatsächlichen Nutzung der Bilder, Art, Umfang und Sprachraum der beabsichtigten Nutzung sowie im Fall der Lizenzierung von lizenzpflichtigen Bildern (RM) den Namen des Endnutzers anzugeben. Entsprechend den Angaben des Lizenznehmers erklärt Westend61 das Einverständnis zur Nutzung des gelieferten Bildmaterials. Entsprechen die Angaben des Lizenznehmers nicht der tatsächlichen Nutzungsart oder stimmt die tatsächliche Nutzung nicht mit den Angaben überein, gilt das Nutzungseinverständnis als nicht erteilt. Der Lizenznehmer hat Westend61 in diesem Fall von Schadensersatzansprüchen Dritter frei zu stellen.

1.3 Grundsätzlich wird nur ein einfaches Nutzungsrecht am jeweiligen Bild übertragen. Die Freigabe oder Zustimmung zur Nutzung abgebildeter Personen, Namen, Waren- oder Markenzeichen, Gebäuden, Dekorationen und künstlerischen Gestaltungen wird davon nicht umfasst. Dies gilt insbesondere für die Nutzung von Bildern im werblichen Zusammenhang. Der Lizenznehmer ist selbst dafür verantwortlich, die in diesem Zusammenhang für die geplante Nutzung erforderlichen Erlaubnisse bzw. Genehmigungen bei den jeweils Berechtigten einzuholen. Die Veröffentlichung von Abbildungen bekannter Persönlichkeiten kann grundsätzlich nur mit deren Namen und nur redaktionell erfolgen.

1.4 Westend61 bleibt die Übertragung von Zweitrechten an Verwertungsgesellschaften ausdrücklich vorbehalten. Klauseln, nach denen mit der Annahme eines Lizenzhonorars die Wahrnehmung weiterer Rechte ausgeschlossen sein sollte, werden nicht anerkannt.

1.5 Unter Hinweis auf § 13 UrhG ist grundsätzlich bei jeder Verwendung ein Agentur- und Urhebervermerk anzubringen, der keinen Zweifel an der Zuordnung zum jeweiligen Bild entstehen lässt. Sammelbildnachweise reichen in diesem Sinne nur aus, sofern sich aus diesen ebenfalls die zweifelsfreie Zuordnung zum jeweiligen Bild vornehmen lässt. Der Lizenznehmer hat Westend61 von aus der Unterlassung eines hinreichenden Urhebervermerks resultierenden Ansprüchen Dritter freizustellen. Die Bestimmung dieses Absatzes gilt auch für Werbung, Einblendungen in Fernsehsendungen und Filmen oder anderen Medien, falls keine ausdrückliche Sondervereinbarung getroffen wurde.

1.6 Von jeder Veröffentlichung im Druck sind Westend61 entspr. § 25 VerlagsG mindestens zwei vollständige Belegexemplare unaufgefordert und kostenlos zuzuschicken.


2. Allgemeine Verfügungsbeschränkungen

2.1 Der Lizenznehmer ist zur Beachtung der publizistischen Grundsätze des Deutschen, Presserates (Pressekodex) verpflichtet; er trägt auch die Verantwortung für die Betextung. Für eine Verletzung des allgemeinen Persönlichkeitsrechts oder des Urheberrechts durch eine abredewidrige oder sinnentstellende Verwendung in Bild und Text übernimmt Westend61 keine Haftung. Im Fall der Verletzung solcher Rechte ist allein der Verwender etwaigen Dritten gegenüber schadensersatzpflichtig und auch verpflichtet, Westend61 von derartigen Ansprüchen freizustellen.

2.2 Eine Entstellung des urheberrechtlich geschützten Bildmaterials durch Abzeichnen, Nachfotografieren, Fotocomposing oder elektronische Hilfsmittel ist nicht gestattet. Ausnahmen hiervon bedürfen einer gesonderten schriftlichen Vereinbarung. Tendenzfremde Verwendungen und Verfälschungen in Bild und Wort sowie Verwendungen, die zur Herabwürdigung abgebildeter Personen führen können, sind unzulässig und machen den Verwender schadensersatzpflichtig.

2.3 Die Weitergabe des Bildmaterials oder die Weitergabe von Nachdruckrechten an Dritte ist nicht gestattet. Ebenso sind Vervielfältigungen, Reproduktionen und Vergrößerungen für Archivzwecke des Bestellers sowie die Weitergabe derselben an Dritte nicht gestattet. Ausnahmen bedürfen der schriftlichen Genehmigung von Westend61.

2.4 Insbesondere ist es dem Lizenznehmer vorbehaltlich einer ausdrücklichen und schriftlichen Zustimmung von Westend61 nicht gestattet, selbst oder durch Dritte

  • die ihm eingeräumten Rechte an Dritte zu lizenzieren, zu übertragen und/oder weiterzuverkaufen sowie Bilder in eine elektronische Vorlage („Template”) einzubinden, die zur Nutzung durch Dritte in elektronischen Medien oder Drucksachen bestimmt ist, beispielsweise Designvorlagen für Internetseiten, Präsentationsvorlagen, elektronische Grußkarten oder Visitenkarten;
  • Bilder in ein Logo, eine Bildmarke oder ein sonstiges Warenzeichen einzubinden;
  • Bilder in einem herunterladbaren Format zu vertreiben oder zugänglich zu machen sowie den Vertrieb über Mobiltelefone zu ermöglichen;
  • Bilder in einer CD-Bibliothek, Speichermedien, Netzwerkkonfigurationen, oder ähnlichen Anordnungen gemeinsam zu nutzen, sofern mehr als zehn (10) Personen, auch zu unterschiedlichen Zeiten, hierauf Zugriff haben;
  • Inhalte in Verbindung mit „On-Demand“-Produkten zu verwenden (z. B. Produkte, bei denen das Lizenzbild durch einen Dritten zur Gestaltung des Produkts im Sinne einer Sonderanfertigung ausgewählt wird), insbesondere Postkarten, Becher, T-Shirts, Kalender, Poster, Bildschirmschoner oder Hintergrundbilder auf Mobiltelefonen oder ähnliche Artikel.
  • etwaige unter Verwendung des Bildes/der Bilder hergestellten Produkte in einer Form zu verkaufen, zu lizenzieren oder zu vertreiben, die Endkunden des Lizenznehmers den Zugriff auf oder die Auswahl von Bildern als einzelne Dateien ermöglicht.

2.5 Jegliche lizenzierte Bilder, insbesondere mit abgebildeten Personen, dürfen nicht in einer Weise verwendet werden, die pornographisch, diffamierend, verleumderisch oder anderweitig gesetzwidrig ist oder als solches gedeutet werden kann.

3. Nutzungsrechte an lizenzpflichtigen Bildern (Rights Managed - RM)

Die jeweils eingeräumten Rechte zur Nutzung lizenzpflichtiger Bilder gelten nur für die einmalige Verwendung im vereinbarten Umfang. Wiederholungen oder sonstige Ausweitungen (Zweck, Art, Umfang, Dauer und Verbreitungsgebiet) der ursprünglich eingeräumten Nutzungsrechte sind nur mit vorherigen schriftlicher Zustimmung von Westend61 erlaubt.

4. Nutzungsrechte an lizenzfreien Bildern (Royalty Free - RF)

Für lizenzfreie Bilder wird die Lizenz zeitlich unbefristet erteilt. Unter Berücksichtigung der in Ziffer III. 1. und III. 2. dieser AGB genannten Einschränkungen darf ein lizenziertes RF-Bild in allen Print-, Online-, Film-, Video-, Rundfunk- oder Multimediaprodukten zu Promotion-, Werbe- und redaktionellen Zwecken oder zur Abbildung auf Waren genutzt werden, vorausgesetzt, solche Produkte dienen nicht dazu, den Weitervertrieb oder die Wiederverwendung der jeweiligen Bilder zuzulassen. Im Fall von unterschiedlichen Regelungen gegenüber den vorliegenden Bedingungen gelten die jeweils engeren Nutzungsrechtseinräumungen.

5. Kündigung und Widerruf von Nutzungsrechten

Eingeräumte Lizenzen können von Westend61 fristlos gekündigt werden, sofern der Lizenznehmer gegen die vorliegenden AGB verstößt, wenn er diesen Verstoß auf Aufforderung durch Westend61 nicht binnen angemessener Frist abstellt oder eine derartige vorherige Aufforderung für Westend61 unzumutbar ist. In diesem Fall hat der Lizenznehmer unverzüglich die Verwendung der Bilder einzustellen, ihm vorliegende Originale sowie Kopien an Westend61 zurückzusenden und alle elektronischen Vervielfältigungsstücke zu löschen bzw. zu vernichten.

IV. Honorare

1. Allgemeine Bestimmungen

1.1 Jede Nutzung des Bildmaterials von Westend61 ist honorarpflichtig. Dies gilt auch bei Verwendung eines Bildes als Vorlage für Zeichnungen, Karikaturen, nachgestellte Fotos, bei Verwendung für Layoutzwecke und Kundenpräsentationen sowie bei Verwendung von Bilddetails, die mittels Montagen, Fotocomposing, elektronischen Bildträgern oder ähnlichen Techniken Bestandteil eines neuen Bildes werden.

1.2 Alle Honorarangaben in Angeboten, Preislisten und sonstigen Unterlagen verstehen sich stets netto ohne Mehrwertsteuer und Künstlersozialversicherungsabgabe.

1.3 Exklusivrechte oder Sperrfristen müssen gesondert vereinbart werden und bedingen mindestens einen Aufschlag von 100 Prozent des jeweiligen Grundhonorars.

1.4 Sobald der Lizenznehmer mitgeteilt hat, dass er das gelieferte Bildmaterial ganz oder teilweise nutzen will, ist Westend61 berechtigt, die Vergabe von Nutzungsrechten in Rechnung zu stellen, auch wenn die Veröffentlichung oder sonstige Nutzung noch nicht erfolgt ist. Falls die vorgesehene Veröffentlichung oder sonstige Verwendung danach nicht erfolgt, kann ein bereits bezahltes Honorar nicht zurückerstattet werden. Die Erstattung von Kosten liegt allein im Ermessen von Westend61.

1.5 Honorarzahlungen müssen immer unter der Angabe der Kundennummer, Bildnummer (Bildleitzahl) und dem Namen des Urhebers geleistet werden. Ohne diese Angaben wird eine zusätzliche Aufwandsentschädigung erhoben, die sich nach dem Umfang des zusätzlichen Aufwandes richtet. Außerdem ist bei der Abrechnung genau anzugeben, welches Bild in welcher Publikation an welcher Stelle verwendet wurde.

1.6 Für die Beschaffung von Fremdmaterial und Informationen fallen Vermittlungs- bzw. Informationsgebühren an, die sich aus Art und Umfang des entstandenen Aufwandes ergeben. Diese Gebühren sind nicht mit etwaigen Nutzungshonoraren verrechenbar. Mit der Bezahlung der Bearbeitungsgebühren erwirbt der Besteller weder Nutzungs- noch Eigentumsrechte.


2. Honorare bei Nutzung lizenzpflichtiger Bilder (Rights Managed - RM)

2.1 Honorare für die Nutzung lizenzpflichtiger RM-Bilder sind vor Verwendung zu vereinbaren. Sie richten sich nach Medium, Art, Umfang, Sprachraum und Dauer der Nutzung; diese sind Westend61 vor Verwendung exakt anzugeben. Erfolgt keine vorherige Honoraranfrage durch den Lizenznehmer oder keine sonstige Honorarvereinbarung, ist Westend61 berechtigt, nach den jeweils geltenden Honorarsätzen der MFM (Mittelstandsgemeinschaft Foto-Marketing) abzurechnen. Macht der Lizenznehmer unvollständige Angaben zu den maßgeblichen Nutzungskriterien, ist Westend61 berechtigt, ein angemessenes Pauschalhonorar anzusetzen.

2.2 Die vereinbarten Honorare gelten nur für die einmalige Nutzung unter den in diesen AGB genannten Kriterien. Jede weitere Nutzung ist erneut honorarpflichtig und bedarf der vorherigen schriftlichen Zustimmung von Westend61, dies gilt insbesondere für Bildnutzungen in digitalen Medien wie z.B. Internetseiten, PDF-Dokumenten oder E-Papers.

2.3 Wird ein bebildertes Objekt (wie z.B. ein Buch, ein Plattencover, ein Prospekt etc.) in einem neuen Medium abgebildet, so ist für das darauf erkennbare Bild, erneut Honorar fällig. Dies gilt insbesondere bei der Nutzung zu Werbezwecken. Der Lizenznehmer hat Westend61 über die neue Verwendung zu informieren und sich die Zustimmung zur Nutzung schriftlich erteilen zu lassen.

3. Honorare bei Nutzung lizenzfreier Bilder (Royalty Free - RF) Honorare für lizenzfreie Bilder richten sich nach der jeweils gültigen Preisliste von Westend61.


V. Haftung des Lizenznehmers

1. Im Fall der unberechtigten Verwendung, Entstellung oder Weitergabe des gelieferten oder elektronisch übermittelten Bildmaterials, der unberechtigten Einräumung von Rechten an Dritte sowie der unberechtigten Fertigung von Vervielfältigungsstücken, Reproduktionen und/oder Vergrößerungen für Archivzwecke des Lizenznehmers sowie der Weitergabe derselben an Dritte verpflichtet sich der Lizenznehmer unbeschadet der Geltendmachung von weiteren Schadensersatzansprüchen durch Westend61 zur Zahlung eines pauschalen Schadensersatzes in Höhe des Fünffachen des üblichen Nutzungshonorars. Dem Lizenznehmer steht es frei, einen geringeren Schaden nachzuweisen.

2. Der Lizenznehmer verpflichtet sich, Westend61 und deren Lizenzgeber gegenüber allen Forderungen, Ansprüchen, Kosten und Ausgaben von Dritten, einschließlich erforderlicher Anwalts- oder Gerichtskosten, schadlos zu halten, die aus der Missachtung der Bestimmungen dieses Vertrages durch den Lizenznehmer, der abredewidrigen Nutzung oder Veränderung von Bildern oder der abredewidrigen Verbindung bzw. Kombination von Bildern mit anderem Material resultieren.


VI. Garantie, Gewährleistung

1. Im Falle berechtigter Beanstandungen hat der Lizenznehmer das Recht auf Ersatzlieferung. Der Lizenznehmer kann erst nach gescheiterter Nacherfüllung den Rücktritt vom Vertrag erklären und die Rückzahlung des Lizenzhonorars geltend machen. Westend61 übernimmt darüber hinaus keinerlei weitergehende Haftung oder Garantie, weder ausdrücklich noch durch schlüssiges Handeln, und schließt insbesondere jegliche Gewährleistung für die wirtschaftliche Verwertbarkeit, Qualität und Eignung der Bilder für bestimmte Verwendungszwecke oder die Kompatibilität mit Computern und anderem technischen Gerät aus. Im Übrigen haftet Westend61 nur für Schäden, die durch Vorsatz verursacht worden sind.

2. Der Lizenznehmer ist verpflichtet, das übermittelte Bildmaterial unverzüglich nach Zugang und bereits vor einer etwaigen Weiterverwendung zu überprüfen. Berechtigte Beanstandungen sind innerhalb von einer Woche nach Zugang des Bildmaterials beim Lizenznehmer und auf Anforderung von Westend61 binnen einer weiteren Woche in schriftlicher Form mitzuteilen. Berechtigte Beanstandungen hinsichtlich etwaiger verdeckter Mängel sind binnen zehn Werktagen ab Entdeckung in schriftlicher Form mitzuteilen. Unterbleibt eine fristgemäße Mitteilung, entfällt jede Haftung von Westend61 für eventuell bereits entstandene oder entstehende Schäden. Ausgenommen ist insoweit lediglich die Haftung für vorsätzliche Schädigungen.

3. Weder Westend61 noch deren Lizenzgeber oder Vertragshändler haften gegenüber dem Lizenznehmer, dessen Kunden oder sonstigen Dritten für etwaige allgemeine, besondere, direkte, indirekte, Folge-, Begleit- oder andere Schäden, die aufgrund eingeräumter Lizenzen, der jeweiligen Nutzung der Bilder oder aus anderen Gründen entstehen. Ausgenommen ist insoweit lediglich die Haftung für vorsätzliche Schädigungen.


VII. Zahlungsbedingungen, Sonstiges

1. Die Rechnungen von Westend61 sind stets netto innerhalb 30 Tagen zahlbar. Nach Ablauf dieser Frist berechnet Westend61 Verzugszinsen in Höhe von 8 %-Punkten über dem Basiszinssatz gemäß § 288 Abs. 2 BGB.

2. Der Lizenznehmer erklärt sich damit einverstanden, dass seine personenbezogenen Daten, sofern sie sich auf die geschäftliche Beziehung zu Westend61 beziehen und im Zuge der Geschäftsbeziehungen bekannt gegeben werden, von Westend61 elektronisch gespeichert, mittels EDV verarbeitet und zu Informationszwecken genutzt werden.

3. Diese Vereinbarung unterliegt, auch bei Lieferungen ins Ausland, dem Recht der Bundesrepublik Deutschland unter Ausschluss des UN Kaufrechts. Gerichtsstand und Erfüllungsort ist, soweit gesetzlich zulässig, ausschließlich München.

4. Sollten eine oder mehrere der vorstehenden Regelungen unwirksam sein oder werden, wird die Gültigkeit der übrigen Regelungen hiervon nicht berührt. Eine unwirksame Bestimmung ist nach Treu und Glauben durch eine zulässige oder wirksame Bestimmung zu ersetzen, die dem Willen der Parteien oder dem wirtschaftlich beabsichtigten Erfolg am nächsten kommt.


Wenn Sie Bilder in einer Weise nutzen möchten, die außerhalb dieser AGB liegt, kontaktieren Sie uns bitte unter service@westend61.de oder telefonisch unter +49 (0) 89 4524426-0.